Loan Period for Circulating Materials
- Books, 3 weeks
- DVDs, 7 days for Adult and Juvenile With a Limit of Three New DVDs Per Cardholder
- Periodicals, Seven Days
Your library card is required at all times to check out or renew materials.
Reference books and most Rhode Island History Collections books do not circulate.
All materials may be renewed twice, with the exception of items that are:
- Items on Hold for Another Patron
- More Than 14 Days Overdue
- Museum Passes
- Non-Ocean State Libraries Items
The following items will be $0.10 per day per item whether adult or juvenile. Excluding holidays and Sundays when applicable.
- Audio Books
- Computer CDs
- Music CDs
Patrons who owe more than $5 in overdue fines will not be allowed to check out materials until the fine level is brought below $5. Patrons will not be allowed to renew an Ocean State Libraries card until the record is clear of fines or charges.
Claims Returned Items
Ocean State Libraries policy states that patrons are allowed no more than two "claims returned" items to be charged to their patron record. Since it is not possible for library staff to check the shelves at another library for an item or items a patron claims to have returned to that library, it is the patron's responsibility to contact the library to find out whether he or she returned the items.
Charges for Lost or Damaged Materials
Patrons are required to pay the full replacement cost of any damaged or lost materials checked out on their Ocean State Libraries card. In-kind replacements are not accepted.
Materials from other Ocean State Libraries may be returned to any South Kingstown Public Library (SKPL) branch, and SKPL materials may be returned to any other Ocean State Libraries library, with the exception of museum passes. Some libraries prefer that non-print materials be returned directly to the owning library. If you should borrow non-print materials from a library other than SKPL, please inquire at the owning library as to its specific policy.
Holds or Reserved Items
A reserve may be placed on any item not on our shelves or owned by another Ocean State Libraries library, with the exception of reference materials, museum passes, and most audio-visual materials. Patrons can either place the hold themselves from the public access catalog in the library or from home through the online catalog on the SKPL website. Reference staff is available to guide patrons through this process and will place holds for patrons who need assistance. Patrons have a choice of being notified that they have an item (s) on hold either by telephone, email, or text. A patron has seven days from the date of notification to check out the items. Please inquire at the reference desk for materials not available through Ocean State Libraries.
Obtaining a Library Card
The South Kingstown Public Library is a member of Ocean State Libraries, a statewide network of 72 participating public libraries throughout Rhode Island. Any South Kingstown or Rhode Island resident is eligible to apply for an Ocean State Libraries library card free of charge. Current identification indicating proof of address is required to obtain a library card. An annual non-resident fee of $150 is charged to each family or individual whose current residence is not within the state of Rhode Island. For further information regarding library card registration policy, please ask a staff member for a copy of the Library Card Registration Policy.
The Circulation Policy was approved by the South Kingston Public Library Board of Trustees in May 2001. This was last updated on December 12, 2013. This policy is posted on the web for your information. In case of discrepancy, the official policy resides in the administrative office at the central library. A complete list of policies is also available from the administrative office.