How do I subdivide my property?

There are three types of subdivision allowed in Rhode Island: Administrative, Minor, and Major.  An Administrative Subdivision is one in which no new lots are created for development.  A Minor Subdivision results in 5 or fewer lots, and a Major Subdivision results in 6 or more lots.  All subdivisions require application to the Planning Department, and the review process is dependent on the type of subdivision requested.  More information on the three types of subdivision, and the respective review processes, can be found here.

Show All Answers

1. How do I move my property line?
2. How do I merge lots together?
3. How do I subdivide my property?
4. What is the review process for my development project?
5. How can I find geographic information about my property?
6. How do I get a printed tax map?
7. How do I get a copy of a recorded plat map or plan?